College of Chemistry, Berkeley


ChemiCAL Science and Engineering


Professor Peidong Yang


Peidong Yang wins Outstanding Investigator award at MRS

Chemistry professor Peidong Yang won the Outstanding Young Investigator Award from the Materials Research Society for his "innovative synthesis of a broad range of nanowire and nanowire heterostructure materials, and the discovery of optically-induced lasing in individual nanowire devices."

His current research interests in nanowire synthesis and higher-order nanostructure assembly, their optoelectronic properties and energy-conversion applications have earned him young investigator awards from the National Science Foundation, The Arnold and Mabel Beckman Foundation, the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation, and the Camille and Henry Dreyfus Foundation.

He was named one of the MIT Technology Review TR 100 top innovators and has received the Exxon Mobil Solid State Chemistry fellowship, the 3M untenured faculty award, the Hellman Award, and the Research Innovation Award. He is the chair of the Nanoscience Subdivision of the American Chemical Society.

Related sites:

Peidong Yang website

MRS website