College of Chemistry, Berkeley

ChemiCAL Science and Engineering

Chemical engineering professor Enrique Iglesia

Iglesia awarded V.N. Ipatieff Lectureship

The Northwestern University Center for Catalysis and Surface Science
is pleased to announce that Dr. Enrique Iglesia, Professor of Chemical Engineering at the University of California, Berkeley will serve as the V. N. Ipatieff Lecturer for 2005.

The V. N. Ipatieff Lectureship was established in 1988 to enhance the educational experience of graduate students and postdoctoral researchers by sponsoring extended, up to one month, visits to the Center by internationally distinguished researchers in catalysis. The lectureship is named after Professor Vladimir N. Ipatieff, the father of high-pressure heterogeneous catalysis and the founder of the Ipatieff High Pressure Laboratory at Northwestern University. Previous V. N. Ipatieff lecturers include Prof. Helmut Knözinger, Prof. Jack Lunsford, Dr. Pierre Gallezot, Dr. Werner Haag, Prof. D. Wayne Goodman, Prof. Rutger A. van Santen, Dr. George Parshall, Prof. Gary Haller, Prof. Makoto Misono, Prof. Roel Prins, Prof. Lanny D. Schmidt, Prof. Avelino Corma, and Sir John M. Thomas.

Professor Iglesia is Editor-In-Chief of the Journal of Catalysis, and Director of the Berkeley Catalysis Center.  Among numerous awards, he has recently received the 2005 George A. Olah Award in Hydrocarbon Chemistry of the American Chemical Society and the 2005 Robert Burwell Award of the Catalysis Society of North America
This award provides the recipient an honorarium of $5,000 as well as a stipend to cover travel expenses.

Related sites:

Enrique Iglesia website