visual image

News & Publications

Department of Chemistry wins half of prestigious Sloan Foundation Research Fellowships awarded to UC Berkeley

haw yang Haw Yang

Thanks to the intellectual strength of its young faculty, the Department of Chemistry has earned three of the six Sloan Foundation Research Fellowships awarded to the University of California, Berkeley, this year.

Chemistry faculty members Jamie Doudna Cate, Phillip Geissler and Haw Yang will each receive $45,000 over the next two years to help establish their research programs. The other Sloan Fellows at UC Berkeley are Davis S. Lee, economics; Jan T. Liphardt, physics; and Joshua Simon Bloom, physics.

The Sloan Research Fellowships were established in 1955 to provide support and recognition to early-career scientists and scholars, often in their first appointments to university faculties, who were endeavoring to set up laboratories and establish their independent research projects.

Currently a total of 116 fellowships are awarded annually in seven fields: chemistry, computational and evolutionary molecular biology, computer science, economics, mathematics, neuroscience, and physics. Thirty-five past Sloan Fellows have become Nobel Laureates.

Sloan Fellows Cate, Geissler and Yang join their chemistry colleague Dean Toste, who was awarded his Sloan Fellowship in 2005. UC Berkeley and the University of Wisconsin-Madison were the only universities to receive three awards each in chemistry in 2006.

"On a campus as rich in talent as UC Berkeley, it's a real honor for our department to earn half of the Sloan Fellowships awarded to the University," says department chair Michael Marletta. "My congratulations to Jamie, Phillip and Haw."

Jamie Doudna CateJamie Doudna Cate

Phillip GeisslerPhillip Geissler

[top of page]