visual image

News & Publications

Segalman wins MDV Innovators Award

Rachel Segalman
Charles Wilke Assistant Professor of Chemical Engineering Rachel Segalman.

December 4, 2007

Rachel A. Segalman, the Charles Wilke Assistant Professor of Chemical Engineering, has been awarded the newly launched MDV Innovators Award from Mohr Davidow Ventures, a leading Silicon Valley-based venture capital firm.

The award recognizes innovative approaches to important scientific and technical challenges. Segalman was recognized for her work in the area of nanostructural control and self-assembly of soft materials for energy applications. She will receive $75,000 for one year to pilot a new, high-risk project with potential to disrupt current thinking in her field or provoke new avenues of research.

MDV conceived the award program to encourage disruptive approaches. “We recognize the difficulty faculty can have, particularly early in their careers, in gaining funding for high-risk, unproven projects. The MDV award aims to enable new possibilities for these extraordinary faculty innovators,” said KT Moortgat, MDV Partner and Cal alum.

Five faculty members from Stanford University and UC Berkeley advise MDV on the Innovators Award. The advisors are chemistry professor Paul Alivisatos, chemical engineering professor Jay Keasling, and mechanical engineering professor Paul Wright from UC Berkeley and Lawrence Berkeley Labs; and Jeff Koseff and Richard Zare from Stanford University.

Other winners include Berkeley physics professor Jan Liphardt and Yi Cui and Mike McGehee, Stanford professors of materials science and engineering.

More Information

UCB Department of Chemical Engineering Faculty

Segalman Research Group

Segalman and ChemE alumni selected for TR35

Rachel Segalman receives Hellman Family faculty funding

Segalman and colleagues find key to thermoelectric energy generation

[top of page]