visual image

News & Publications

Fréchet wins Mark, Remsen awards from ACS

Bookmark and Share
Jean Fréchet
Jean Fréchet

September 15, 2009

Jean Fréchet, a professor of both chemistry and chemical engineering, has won two prestigious awards from the American Chemical Society.

Fréchet is the recipient of the 2009 Herman F. Mark Polymer Chemistry Award from the ACS Division of Polymer Chemistry. The award was presented on August 19 at the annual ACS meeting in Washington, DC, in recognition of Fréchet’s “outstanding research and leadership in polymer science.”

“I am particularly pleased to receive the Herman F. Mark Award as it is the highest award given by my peers in the Division of Polymer Chemistry of the American Chemical Society,” he says.

Fréchet was also selected as the recipient of the 2009 Remsen Award by the Maryland Section of the ACS. This award was established in 1946 to commemorate the career of Ira Remsen, first Professor of Chemistry and second President of the Johns Hopkins University. The award lecture will be given at Johns Hopkins University on September 16.

Other College of Chemistry winners of the Remsen award include Gabor Somorjai in 2006, Judith Klinman in 2005, Alex Pines in 2000, Bill Miller in 1997, and Robert Bergman in 1990.