visual image

News & Publications

College scientists acknowledged by European, American physical societies

Bookmark and Share
Professor Jeff Reimer
Professor Jeff Reimer.

December 16, 2010

The recent National Research Council rankings made clear that the College of Chemistry is held in esteem by chemists. In the last several days, two new honors reveal just how highly college scientists are also held in esteem by physicists.

Professor Jeff Reimer, chair of the Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, has been elected a Fellow of the American Physical Society. He is one of 14 new Fellows elected this year. Reimer was nominated through the Division of Materials Physics for his work on the “design and analysis of in situ spectroscopic studies of materials and electrochemical processes.”

Professor David Chandler
Professor David Chandler.

Meanwhile in the chemistry department, professor David Chandler was awarded the European Physical Society’s Liquid Matter Prize for 2011. The prize includes an award of 5,000 Euros and an invitation to deliver the Prize lecture at the 8th Liquid Matter Conference in Vienna, Austria, Sept. 6-10, 2011.

Chandler was awarded the prize “for seminal works that have enhanced our understanding of the molecular nature of liquid matter, including highly original and influential theories of microscopic structure, chemical equilibrium and kinetics, quantum processes in fluids, hydrophobicity and vitrification.”

Says CBE chair Reimer about his award, “I am honored that the APS has recognized the inspiring work and dedication of my current and former postdocs, Ph.D. students, and undergrads.”

Reimer adds, “My group investigates the interaction between electrons and nuclei in solids, with subsequent application to problems in nuclear spintronics and electrochemical systems. The details of these interactions overlap significantly with the physics community, as do their technological applications.”

Says Chandler about his chemistry colleagues, “Many of our faculty are held in high regard by physicists. I was awarded the Langmuir Prize by the APS. So too was Leone this year, and Somorjai a few years ago. The list of Berkeley APS prize winners is long, which speaks to the interdisciplinary nature of our science.”

About the Liquid Matter Conference Chandler says, “It’s the most important meeting on this topic — a major international conference. Next fall’s meeting will be the third occasion when the Liquid Matter Prize is awarded. I am the first non-European recipient. I am honored by this recognition of the research that my students and I have done over the years.”


[top of page]