visual image

News & Publications

Newman wins Electrochemical Society's Acheson Award

Bookmark and Share
John Newman
Professor John Newman.

July 19, 2010

John Newman, the Charles W. Tobias Professor of Electrochemistry, has been selected to receive the prestigious Acheson Award of the Electrochemical Society. The Acheson is the most prestigious of the numerous awards of the Electrochemical Society, many of which Newman has already won.

Newman is known for his seminal approach to the analysis and design of electrochemical systems. He has not only clarified the physical and chemical laws that govern the behavior of electrochemical systems, he has also demonstrated how to use these laws to correctly formulate and solve problems associated with batteries, fuel cells, electrolyzers, and related technologies.

Newman was born in Richmond, Virginia. He earned his B.S. in chemical engineering in 1960 from Northwestern University. Newman attended UC Berkeley for graduate study, earning his master’s degree in 1962 with professor Charles Tobias. In 1963 he obtained his doctorate. Soon after, he joined the Berkeley faculty and became a full professor in 1970.

In 1985, Newman received the David C. Grahame Award of the Physical Electrochemistry Division of the Electrochemical Society. Newman’s book, Electrochemical Systems, published in 1973, with a second printing in 1991 and a third in 2004 (with co-author Karen E. Thomas-Alyea), is used throughout the world as a monograph and graduate text in electrochemical engineering.

He is also a Faculty Senior Scientist and Principal Investigator in the Environmental Energy Technologies Division at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, where he is in charge of the Batteries for Advanced Transportation Technologies program.

Newman is a fellow of the Electrochemical Society, and his other awards include the Henry B. Linford Award for Distinguished Teaching in 1990 and the Olin Palladium Medal in 1991. He was associate editor for the Journal of the Electrochemical Society for 10 years starting in 1990. He was elected to the National Academy of Engineering in 1999.

More Information

John Newman Faculty Profile

Newman Research Group