visual image

News & Publications

Mullin wins APS Padden award

Bookmark and Share
Scott Mullen
Ph.D. student Scott Mullen.

April 4, 2011

Scott Mullin, a Ph.D. student in the research group of CBE professor Nitash Balsara, has won the 2011 Frank J. Padden Jr. Award from the Division of Polymer Physics of the American Physical Society. This international competition invited students to submit abstracts for the award. The division then picked five finalists who each presented at a special symposium during the annual March meeting of the APS in Dallas, TX. Mullin was selected the winner from among the finalists.

Mullin’s research involves improving lithium batteries by incorporating lithium metal anodes with block copolymer electrolytes. In particular, he focuses on the ion transport properties of lithium salts through PS-PEO (polystyrene-polyethylene oxide) polymers, including conductivity, salt diffusion coefficients and measurements of lithium ion movement. His approach to these problems combines elements of both polymer physics and electrochemical engineering.

More Information

Mullin bio webpage (Balsara Research Group)

Balsara Research Group