visual image

News & Publications

Chandler wins ACS Peter Debye Award in Physical Chemistry

Bookmark and Share

January 20, 2012

Chemistry professor David Chandler
Chemistry professor David Chandler

David Chandler, the Bruce Mahan Professor of Chemistry, has won the American Chemical Society’s Peter Debye Award in Physical Chemistry.

The award is named for the Dutch physicist and physical chemist Peter Debye, who won the 1936 Nobel Prize in chemistry “for his contributions to our knowledge of molecular structure through his investigations on dipole moments and on the diffraction of X-rays and electrons in gases.” The award is sponsored by E.I. du Pont de Nemours and Company.

Chandler’s primary area of research is statistical mechanics, which he has used to create many of the basic techniques for understanding condensed matter chemical equilibrium and chemical dynamics. He provided the modern language and concepts for describing structure and dynamics of polyatomic liquids—a series of contributions that has allowed quantitative and analytical treatments of simple molecular fluids, of aqueous solutions and hydrophobic effects, and of polymeric melts and blends.

Vignettes of Chandler and other award recipients will appear in Chemical & Engineering News in early 2012. The recipients will be honored at an awards ceremony on Mar. 27, 2012, in conjunction with the 243rd ACS national meeting in San Diego, CA.

More Information

David Chandler Faculty webpage:

Chandler Research Group: