visual image

News & Publications

Neumark wins 2013 APS Broida Prize

Bookmark and Share

October 17, 2012

Chemistry Chair Daniel Neumark
Daniel Neumark, chair of the chemistry department.

Daniel Neumark, chair of the chemistry department, has won the 2013 Herbert P. Broida Prize of the American Physical Society. The prize was awarded to Neumark for his “pioneering work in reaction and cluster dynamics using transition state spectroscopy and time-resolved femtosecond photoelectron spectroscopy.”

The prize was established in 1979 as a memorial to and in recognition of the accomplishments of Herbert P. Broida, late Professor of Physics at the University of California, Santa Barbara. It is supported by the friends and colleagues of Herbert P. Broida.

The prize consists of $5,000, an allowance for travel to the award ceremony and a certificate citing the contributions made by the recipient. The prize is awarded every odd numbered year.

APS logo

Past recipients include Berkeley chemistry professor Stephen Leone (1989), and Nobel Laureates Ahmed Zewail (1995) and Steven Chu (1987). Zewail was a postdoc with Berkeley chemistry professor Charles Harris, and Chu was the director of LBNL before being appointed the Secretary of Energy by President Obama.

The American Physical Society ( is a non-profit membership organization working to advance and diffuse the knowledge of physics through its outstanding research journals, scientific meetings, and education, outreach, advocacy and international activities. APS represents over 50,000 members, including physicists in academia, national laboratories and industry in the United States and throughout the world. Society offices are located in College Park, MD (Headquarters), Ridge, NY, and Washington, DC.

More Information

Neumark faculty webpage:

The Neumark Group: